Relationship with God

Giordano Bruno

Oriental Orthodox
Heritage
I've been praying every morning and night from Psalms for four years straight now, and I've come to an epiphany.

I feel like repeating the exact same prayers, word for word, when I haven't even learned to memorise them somehow, is a bit pointless. It's like I'm a drone or machine instead of a Servant to Christ.

I've prayed for guidance, and I think it would be better for me to try and read different parts of the Bible instead. To actually try and learn instead of blindly reading the exact same chapters over and over again like a broken record.

I think I liked when I heard the prayers Kanye West shared with Alex Jones. They sounded full of spirit and vigour.

To some degree, I'd like to admit that praying every day was serving my pride not God. I took pride in not missing a single day no matter how tired I was, or if I was being called by someone, or was running late for work. I always tried to pray as soon as I got up, and right before I got in bed to sleep.

It was a chore, not a real prayer, and that's something I want to apologise for. So forgive me, and let me move forward with faith and humility instead of crumbling with the rust of pride.

Christ is King. Amen.

There is nothing wrong with repeating the Psalms over and over again. They were written for that very reason. But as you say, it must come from true faith and humility or it misses the mark. There is a way to read them pridefully, but there is also a way to read them faithfully by putting all our trust and hope in God. At least with your practice, you have developed discipline in prayer that you can carry forth with you now.

Regardless, the time spent in prayer does not matter as much as the intent. A minute of prayer that comes straight from the heart is better than hours of vain repetitions.