Raising a Daughter

Thefinalepic

Administrator
Orthodox Inquirer
Heritage
Heirloom
I am the father to a 9 month old girl, obviously there is some time before I have to do the *real* parenting - but I am wanting to prepare for the moment when it does come.

Her mother is a good example of what a woman can be when she follows her feminine imperative, but as a father, I am clueless as how to best guard her from the world of social media/feminism/woke school teachers/etc...

Any thoughts or experiences would be much appreciated.

I will say that becoming a father has given me a glimpse of the love that Our Father has for us - it has been a revelation and strengthened my faith exceptionally.

If I were you I'd make sure to go to Holy Liturgy every Sunday and get involved in the community. The people at the Church will help you raise your kid in the right environment, and you might even meet some other parents that are doing homeschooling so you can network.

I used to be a teacher. First public then private. I will never send my future kid (Lord willing) to either school. Just my opinion.

Last edited:
I am the father to a 9 month old girl, obviously there is some time before I have to do the *real* parenting - but I am wanting to prepare for the moment when it does come.

Her mother is a good example of what a woman can be when she follows her feminine imperative, but as a father, I am clueless as how to best guard her from the world of social media/feminism/woke school teachers/etc...

Any thoughts or experiences would be much appreciated.

I will say that becoming a father has given me a glimpse of the love that Our Father has for us - it has been a revelation and strengthened my faith exceptionally.
What I can say from my own experience is that discernment is important.

Shielding can be the result of the fear of the parent for the world. This can have negative effects, as you transmit your fears on your daughter. If you feel those, it's good to work on those.